Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Internet Explorer: Delete Temporary Internet Files


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Paul

Paul

    SuperNova III Member

  • ++Member
  • 2,893 posts
  • Location:U.K. Cambs
  • Interests:Some Web designing, Amiga's, Like Point & Click Adventure RPG, Watching DVDs

  • United Kingdom

Posted 07 January 2004 - 04:27 PM

To wipe all the junk which is downloaded to hard disk (this is called cache) when accessing websites follow these steps:

Empty Cache

1. Open IE as normal

2. Left click Tools and on Internet Options.

Attached Images

  • ietemp.gif


#2 Paul

Paul

    SuperNova III Member

  • ++Member
  • 2,893 posts
  • Location:U.K. Cambs
  • Interests:Some Web designing, Amiga's, Like Point & Click Adventure RPG, Watching DVDs

  • United Kingdom

Posted 07 January 2004 - 04:29 PM

3. Make sure you have General tab selected.

4. Left click Delete Files button.

Attached Images

  • ietemp1.gif


#3 Paul

Paul

    SuperNova III Member

  • ++Member
  • 2,893 posts
  • Location:U.K. Cambs
  • Interests:Some Web designing, Amiga's, Like Point & Click Adventure RPG, Watching DVDs

  • United Kingdom

Posted 07 January 2004 - 04:33 PM

5. Tick the box Delete all offline content.

6. Left Click OK and wait about 30 seconds (until all disk activity as stopped)

Attached Images

  • ietemp2.gif


#4 Paul

Paul

    SuperNova III Member

  • ++Member
  • 2,893 posts
  • Location:U.K. Cambs
  • Interests:Some Web designing, Amiga's, Like Point & Click Adventure RPG, Watching DVDs

  • United Kingdom

Posted 07 January 2004 - 04:40 PM

7. To delete all your cookie files, left click Delete Cookies button and left Click OK.

Attached Images

  • ietemp3.gif


#5 Paul

Paul

    SuperNova III Member

  • ++Member
  • 2,893 posts
  • Location:U.K. Cambs
  • Interests:Some Web designing, Amiga's, Like Point & Click Adventure RPG, Watching DVDs

  • United Kingdom

Posted 07 January 2004 - 04:46 PM

How to adjust cache settings:

8. Click Settings.

Attached Images

  • ietemp4.gif


#6 Paul

Paul

    SuperNova III Member

  • ++Member
  • 2,893 posts
  • Location:U.K. Cambs
  • Interests:Some Web designing, Amiga's, Like Point & Click Adventure RPG, Watching DVDs

  • United Kingdom

Posted 07 January 2004 - 04:55 PM

9. Select Automatically

10. Type in MB box to the right of Amount of disk space to use, around 500 (increase if on 56k dial up and/or you have an old/slower PC - decrease if you have fast PC and broadband. I think 500 is about right for broadband)

N.B Do not put in less than 100 MB otherwise you will slow down web loading times (if you are a 56k dial up user) and Donít put more than 1.5GB as the more temp files you have, the slower your PC will run.

Attached Images

  • Image1.gif

Edited by Paul, 07 January 2004 - 06:42 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users