![]() ![]() |
Dec 14 2003, 07:47 AM
Post
#1
|
|
|
New Member ![]() Group: Members Posts: 2 Joined: 14-December 03 Member No.: 728 ![]() |
Hi everyone, I'm a new member with a very important issue -- Last night I was searching the web and visiting some international sites. Only to later discover a prompt informing me that a website was requesting information about my internet connection. I immediately searched through my program files for suspect downloads onto my computer. I discovered a file (which I know I didn't download) -- named "STC". Evidently a site which I've never heard of and never visited --: http://www.2ndthought.com located in Australia, somehow, by stealth installed its program onto my computer. I deleted the entire file folder, only to discover it back on my computer this evening. This file now has approximately 5 DLL files that it will not allow me to remove from my computer.. How can I get rid of it, and protect myself from such sites. Additionally, there is a separate folder that this site installed, named Clear Thought!!! Any help will be greatly appreciated. Sincerely, CD |
|
|
|
Dec 14 2003, 08:12 AM
Post
#2
|
|
![]() The old timer Group: ++Member Posts: 2,740 Joined: 2-November 01 From: Manchester uk Member No.: 3 ![]() |
Hi and welcome
Download..Ad-Aware from here run it and delete all it finds -------------------- REGARDS
![]() Sys.info Inspiron 530 Intel® Core™ 2 Duo E8400 processor (3.00GHz, 1333MHz, 6MB cache) Video Card 256MB ATI® Radeon™ HD 2400 XT graphics card Memory 3072MB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM [2x1024 + 2x512] built wireless and bluetooth |
|
|
|
Dec 14 2003, 01:27 PM
Post
#3
|
|
|
Inmate ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 233 Joined: 22-October 03 From: England Member No.: 652 ![]() |
............then get yourself one of the many free firewalls available!!
|
|
|
|
Dec 14 2003, 06:11 PM
Post
#4
|
|
|
SuperNova II Member Group: Moderators Posts: 1,197 Joined: 19-November 03 Member No.: 694 ![]() Bubble Trouble Champion! Blackjack 2 Champion! |
check out this website also https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2 the URL takes you to the ShieldsUP! part that checks all of your ports for any leaks. It's part of this company called Gibson Research Corporation. IT's a really good sight
|
|
|
|
Dec 15 2003, 10:08 AM
Post
#5
|
|
|
Elite Member ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Members Posts: 300 Joined: 12-March 02 From: Australia Member No.: 114 ![]() |
Ill pass this on to the A.C.C.C. which is the appropriate body is Aust. They are always interested in these things and may pursue it if deemed undesirable
-------------------- --System Info--
Hardware: Celeron 1.6Ghz, 1 Gig DDR ram 40GB Primary HDD. 15GB secondary HDD 56k v90 fax/voice/data modem OS: Uncle Bill's XP Home SP2 100% legal software |
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
|
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 22nd May 2013 - 10:07 PM |