• 10,440 posts
  • Interests:Software
    Soccer
    Photography
    RC cars
    Electronics

• Nothing Selected

Posted 08 February 2003 - 11:31 AM

Well, I've got an assignment due in the beginning of April when I have to hand in a clone of the original Centipede game (Atari, 1980) written in Java. So I thought it would be a good idea to have some form of a log where I would post how the project is coming along and how certain obstacles are dealt with. This should be helpful and interesting, since I'm new to Java too.

Hopefully, the final code will be released when the project is complete. :)

How the game works:

The Centipede universe is made up of three main types of objects: Bugs, mushrooms and the player. Here is a breakdown of the game objects:

*Mushrooms
|_Poisonous: Cause the centipede to drop to the bottom of the screen.
|_Normal: Cause the centipede to change direction.

*Bugs (kill the player upon impact)
|_Centipede: Moves across the screen.
|_Fleas: Drop randomly from the top and create mushrooms.
|_Spiders: Lurk in the bottom 1/3 of the screen to keep the player moving.
|_Scorpions: Turn mushrooms into poisonous ones.

The player moves in the bottom 1/3 of the screen and tries to kill the centipede. When a part of the centipede is shot, it turns into a mushroom and the centipede itself breaks into two seperate ones.

Things that I don't suck at: Photography (flickr, JPG Mag), Skydiving, Splitting atoms, Flying a space shuttle
"Don't bail; the best gold is at the bottom of barrels of crap!" -Randy Pausch
I have people-skills goddamnit! What is wrong with you people!!! | www.skyrill.com

#2 usr.c

usr.c

Boss, my code's compiling (xkcd)

• Admins
  • 10,440 posts
    Soccer
    Photography
    RC cars
    Electronics

• Nothing Selected

Posted 08 February 2003 - 08:03 PM