Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

IP ADDRESS CONFLICT


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 JanetC

JanetC

    Inmate

  • ++Member
  • 232 posts
  • Location:Preston, Lancashire, UK

Posted 23 April 2009 - 05:15 PM

I've just purchased a Sony vaio laptop and am busy setting up the same websites and passwords that are on my main computer. I now have a screen message on the laptop:

WINDOWS HAS DETECTED AN IP ADDRESS CONFLICT

Contact network administrator for help resolving this issue

Can anyone offer me assistance please

#2 bobhome

bobhome

    The old timer

  • ++Member
  • 2,740 posts
  • Location:Manchester uk
  • Interests:0

  • United Kingdom

Posted 24 April 2009 - 06:01 AM

QUOTE(JanetC @ Apr 23 2009, 06:15 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I've just purchased a Sony vaio laptop and am busy setting up the same websites and passwords that are on my main computer. I now have a screen message on the laptop:

WINDOWS HAS DETECTED AN IP ADDRESS CONFLICT

Contact network administrator for help resolving this issue

Can anyone offer me assistance please

Hi Janet,
Have you got a wireless router/modem, if so you may need to update the firmware. with your IE open, type in the address bar at the top of this page 192.168.2.1
this shoud take you to your router, if you click on update firmware, it you take you to the latest version download from the modem/router manufacturers site. see if that helps.

Edited by bobhome, 24 April 2009 - 06:26 AM.

REGARDS


Sys.info
Inspiron 530
Intel® Core™ 2 Duo E8400 processor (3.00GHz, 1333MHz, 6MB cache)
Video Card
256MB ATI® Radeon™ HD 2400 XT graphics card
Memory
3072MB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM [2x1024 + 2x512]
built wireless and bluetooth

#3 JanetC

JanetC

    Inmate

  • ++Member
  • 232 posts
  • Location:Preston, Lancashire, UK

Posted 24 April 2009 - 07:23 AM

Oh, thanks Bob.

It will be later today when I get chance to try this, so I'll be back asap to let you know the outcome.

Thanks!

#4 bobhome

bobhome

    The old timer

  • ++Member
  • 2,740 posts
  • Location:Manchester uk
  • Interests:0

  • United Kingdom

Posted 24 April 2009 - 07:26 AM

QUOTE(JanetC @ Apr 24 2009, 08:23 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Oh, thanks Bob.

It will be later today when I get chance to try this, so I'll be back asap to let you know the outcome.

Thanks!

If there is no direct link for the update after you click on update firmware, , you may have to go to the routers site for it. what is the make and model of your router???

REGARDS


Sys.info
Inspiron 530
Intel® Core™ 2 Duo E8400 processor (3.00GHz, 1333MHz, 6MB cache)
Video Card
256MB ATI® Radeon™ HD 2400 XT graphics card
Memory
3072MB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM [2x1024 + 2x512]
built wireless and bluetooth

#5 JanetC

JanetC

    Inmate

  • ++Member
  • 232 posts
  • Location:Preston, Lancashire, UK

Posted 26 April 2009 - 05:59 PM

QUOTE(bobhome @ Apr 24 2009, 08:26 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
If there is no direct link for the update after you click on update firmware, , you may have to go to the routers site for it. what is the make and model of your router???


I can't figure out where to go next !

It's a Sony Vaio notebook powered by a 3G SIM card from T-Mobile



#6 bobhome

bobhome

    The old timer

  • ++Member
  • 2,740 posts
  • Location:Manchester uk
  • Interests:0

  • United Kingdom

Posted 27 April 2009 - 05:25 AM

QUOTE(JanetC @ Apr 26 2009, 06:59 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I can't figure out where to go next !

It's a Sony Vaio notebook powered by a 3G SIM card from T-Mobile

Hi Janet,
I meant the make and model of your wireless router which is plugged into your phoneline. A wireless laptop will only join the internet within range of a wireless router.
Oh!! sorry, I just realised that you are talking about a sim card to use via a mobile phone network. I have never used one of those but if you enter the problem on google, I am sure there will be an answer somewhere. type in google something like ----3G SIM t-mobile laptop IP ADDRESS problems

Edited by bobhome, 27 April 2009 - 05:48 AM.

REGARDS


Sys.info
Inspiron 530
Intel® Core™ 2 Duo E8400 processor (3.00GHz, 1333MHz, 6MB cache)
Video Card
256MB ATI® Radeon™ HD 2400 XT graphics card
Memory
3072MB 800MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM [2x1024 + 2x512]
built wireless and bluetooth

#7 JanetC

JanetC

    Inmate

  • ++Member
  • 232 posts
  • Location:Preston, Lancashire, UK

Posted 27 April 2009 - 06:49 AM

QUOTE(bobhome @ Apr 27 2009, 06:25 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi Janet,
I meant the make and model of your wireless router which is plugged into your phoneline. A wireless laptop will only join the internet within range of a wireless router.
Oh!! sorry, I just realised that you are talking about a sim card to use via a mobile phone network. I have never used one of those but if you enter the problem on google, I am sure there will be an answer somewhere. type in google something like ----3G SIM t-mobile laptop IP ADDRESS problems


Thanks, Bob. I will have a browse and let you know.

#8 JanetC

JanetC

    Inmate

  • ++Member
  • 232 posts
  • Location:Preston, Lancashire, UK

Posted 27 April 2009 - 03:35 PM

Bob - after visiting the Windows website, there was apparently a hotfix available to fix my problem, but I was advised to wait, as it might be contained in the next windows update.

I think this might already have happened because I haven't received the system message today.

Thanks for your help.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users