Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Video Card Memory in Windows


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Aberdeen

Aberdeen

    Elite II Member

  • ++Member
  • 466 posts
  • Location:Australia

  • Australia

Posted 16 October 2007 - 12:37 PM

Hi everyone. Hi Ali.

I got a new card the other day and noticed that DirectX is saying the card has 512MB, when it only has 256MB. When the computer starts the bios message says 256MB. Know what's up with this?

#2 amir

amir

    SuperNova III Member

  • Support Team
  • 2,141 posts
  • Location:Toronto
  • Interests:http://adagio.fm<br />http://entranced.fm/

  • Canada

Posted 16 October 2007 - 01:51 PM

that is a tribute from Mr. Gates to a few number of elected power users!

#3 MaD_cOw

MaD_cOw

    No way... It compiles? SHIP IT!

  • Moderators
  • 609 posts
  • Location:Thunder Bay, Ontario Canada
  • Interests:Drumming,<br />Music,<br />Mountain Biking,<br />Modding,<br />Vintage Hardware,

  • Canada

Posted 17 October 2007 - 03:03 AM

I don't think thats really a problem, usually if there is less RAM then there is physically there is a problem. lol
-Mad_cow

#4 Aberdeen

Aberdeen

    Elite II Member

  • ++Member
  • 466 posts
  • Location:Australia

  • Australia

Posted 21 October 2007 - 06:06 AM

LOL, I don't know what you find so funny. I assume that an incorrect read in memory, either more or less, would cause trouble. If I write a program that takes a 512MB HEAP when there is only a 256MB HEAP, when I try to allocate memory past the 256MB I will get a runtime error, more than likely a fatal exception.

I remember when these forums were friendly and informative ...

#5 amir

amir

    SuperNova III Member

  • Support Team
  • 2,141 posts
  • Location:Toronto
  • Interests:http://adagio.fm<br />http://entranced.fm/

  • Canada

Posted 21 October 2007 - 01:36 PM

man, i'm sorry. i just tried to be fun.
but i have already done a search and didn't find anything related. and the shared memory usually shows up both on bios and directx so that seems unlikely to be the reason. anyway u may like to check if ur gpu is borrowing memory (if the card supports shared memory at all!).

how about updating ur drivers?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users